Being in the industry for over 15 years, our team have seen many trends come and go. Veganism, however, has become a way of life for many and has conquered the mainstream- there are now over half a million vegans over 15 years old in the UK-so it looks like this is a trend here to stay.  Vegan products often appeal to those who suffer with intolerance and allergies, because most plant sources are void of allergens, so proteins like hemp for example, are easily digestible for most individuals.

Although many companies are catering to the needs of those who choose a plant based diet, it still can be difficult to know what ingredients to look out for when purchasing health and food supplements. 

Label checking is so important, there are some ingredients that cause confusion and as a Vegan, it’s important to know what you should look out for. Firstly- Whey Protein. It is animal based- as it is derived from dairy. Also, keep an eye out for casein on labels, as this comes from cow’s milk.  A good vegan protein alterative would be brown rice protein, hemp protein or pea protein. Brown rice protein is a great source of amino acids and ideal alternative for those who are lactose intolerant or have soy and gluten allergies.  Similarly, pea protein has gained recent popularity and has a great BCAA content, like Hemp protein which is also an excellent source of omega 6 and 3 fatty acids. 

One of the main benefits of a Whey protein would be that it contains all nine essential amino acids, making it good for muscle growth.  A common gripe with plant based proteins is that they are deficient in amino acids, so it would be worth looking for a blend of plant protein sources, like pea, hemp and brown rice. A combination of these types of proteins will give you all the amino acids you’ll find in Whey.  Our Vegan Protein formula uses a mix of brown rice protein, pea and hemp protein and this blend has a full range of essential amino acids to provide the body with the nutrients it requires, without having to use any dairy protein sources.

vegan labels

Carmine is another ingredient that Vegans should look out for. It is an insect derived red food colouring that is produced from the crushed carcasses of a particular South and Central American insects. It can be added to powders to give the finished product a red or pink appearance.  A good vegan alternative to look for is Beetroot Extract, which has a distinctive red colour, and also brings its own health benefits, as it’s packed with minerals and vitamins including Vitamin B6, Folic Acid, potassium and magnesium.  This is the exact reason we've added Beetroot Extract into our Pre Workout; not only does it give a natural pink colour to the mix, but it has multiple health benefits.

In our opinion, the best vegan supplements will be free of toxic residue, contain non-GMO ingredients and will be manufactured in a way that preserves the full bioavailability of the ingredients. Remember to always read the product label, and look for any allergenic ingredients.

To shop our vegan range, click here.

Older Post Newer Post

0 comments

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published